Look What Fall Blew In

October 28, 2011

September and October turned out to be a busy, yet exciting time for The Lugar Center; a whirlwind of educational events, live demonstrations, and great networking opportunities, all in our very own, great big “green” backyard.

And it’s probably been an even more exciting for me, The Lugar Center’s new communications intern! Before climbing onboard the renewable energy train, I’d worked as an intern in public relations, labor, and even university publications. As a student, I felt it was my job to explore all my options in order to find the best career fit for me. I think I can finally say, mission accomplished—I believe I may have found my niche!

Renewable energy is such an exciting field to be in right now! Between The Energy Summit we attended at the Indianapolis Museum of Art, The Freedom documentary we helped host at University Place Hotel, the solar energy demonstration we did for Indy’s Solar Tour and Eli Lilly’s annual Energy Day—it’s been an exhilarating and inspiring fall for me and for The Lugar Center!

Now, don’t get me wrong, as a Liberal Arts student who lacks a lot of scientific background, there’s a bit of a learning curve. But, I know my eyes are not the only ones being opened and it’s exciting to see people learning, growing and becoming part of the solution to America’s energy crisis. I’ve seen that the possibilities are endless in this rapidly growing field, even if you are not an engineer or scientist. It’s going to require a plethora of talent from a variety of disciplines to secure a sustainable renewable energy future.

I’ve learned so much in such a small amount of time here at The Lugar Center. I’ve always been an avid recycler; some may even have called me a little obsessed about recycling. I really didn’t know how else I could make an impact on reducing my energy consumption. However, after attending the pre-screening of the Freedom documentary, I started using ethanol to propel my vehicle. And it feels great to know I’m doing my part to support local farming, cut the “oil” umbilical cord that’s been wrapped around America’s neck for far too long, and reduce the toxic chemicals being emitted into our air, while saving money at the same time. Those same people who called me an obsessive recycler can now call me obsessive about saving energy!

There are so many things we can do to conserve energy and reduce our carbon footprint here on earth. So, what are you waiting for? Hop aboard this incredibly efficient, renewable energy train and help us make the necessary changes to keep this planet beautiful!

One Response to “Look What Fall Blew In”

  1. Lugar said

    An amazing blog post friend! Continue excellent work and forever keep making post such as this one.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

